• Print Page Content
 Click here for the latest Blog Tour 
 
Welcome to the New Zealand Gifted Awareness Week Blog Tour for 2013.

A big thank you to everyone who wrote to promote gifted awareness this June. Here is a post about how to participate. See the 2012 and 2011 posts for even more blogs about giftedness. Contact Mary St George of Gifted Online to book for the tour. 

Posts will be added in the table below as people offer to write.

 
Posts in italics are live. Posts in bold relate to government viewpoints and policies, open letters to Parliament, and other posts created for lobbying purposes. Posts in green are written by gifted children. The hashtag for New Zealand Gifted Awareness Week is #NZGAW, which may be useful for sharing these posts.

 Date  Name  Topic  URL
 21 May  Mary St George  The New Zealand Gifted Awareness Week Blog Tour 2013  creatingcurriculum.wordpress.com/2013/05/21/
the-new-zealand-gifted-awareness-week-blog-tour-2013/
 27 May  Mary St George  Step out of the Soup  creatingcurriculum.wordpress.com/2013/05/26/
step-out-of-the-soup/
 10 June  Mary St George  Welcome to the #NZGAW Blog Tour  creatingcurriculum.wordpress.com/2013/06/10/
welcome-to-the-nzgaw-blog-tour/
 10 June  Elaine Le Sueur  What is different about a gifted student?
 made4gifted.blogspot.co.nz/2013/06/what-is-
different-about-gifted-student.html
 10 June  Debbie Smith  The Dichotomies of Giftedness  www.debbie.co.nz/2013/06/the-dichotomies-of-
giftedness/
 11 June  Elaine Le Sueur
 Starting a Ripple Effect
 made4gifted.blogspot.co.nz/2013/06/starting-
ripple-effect.html

 11 June  Dazzled and Frazzled
 The Parent Challenge  dazzledandfrazzled.com/2013/06/the-parent-
challenge.html
 12 June  Elaine Le Sueur
 It's time to Act
 made4gifted.blogspot.co.nz/2013/06/its-time-to-act.html
 12 June  Mona Chicks   Challenge and Frustration  lifewithintensity.blogspot.co.nz/2013/06/
challenge-and-frustration.html
 13 June  Elaine Le Sueur
 The Power of Words
 made4gifted.blogspot.co.nz/2013/06/the-power-of-words.html
 13 June  Mary St George  Your MP is Probably Gifted  creatingcurriculum.wordpress.com/2013/06/
13/your-mp-is-probably-gifted
 13 June  Debbie Smith  Anna's Story  debbie.co.nz/2013/06/annas-story/
 14 June  Elaine Le Sueur
 Planting Seeds. 
 made4gifted.blogspot.co.nz/2013/06/planting-seeds.html
 14 June   Hamish  An Open Letter to Parliament from a Gifted Child  creatingcurriculum.wordpress.com/2013/06/14/
an-open-letter-to-parliament-from-a-gifted-child/
 14 June  Peter Lydon  Advocacy versus Curriculum  gtnetwork.ie/index.php/advocacy-versus-curriculum/06/2013/
 15 June  Jessica Parsons  G is for Gifted and that's good enough for me...  minimalistmum.blogspot.co.nz/2013/06/g-is-for-gifted-and-thats-good-enough.html
 15 June  Lara  Give Us a Challenge  creatingcurriculum.wordpress.com/2013/06/15/give-us-a-challenge/
 15 June  Jo Freitag  Waving to New Zealand  jofrei5.edublogs.org/2013/06/15/waving-to-new-zealand/
 15 June  giftEDnz  Template for a letter to Members of Parliament  giftednz.org.nz/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/GAW_TemplateLetter2013.pdf
 15 June  Collaborating Organisations for #NZGAW  Open Letter to Members of Parliament  giftednz.org.nz/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/GAW_MP_letter2013.pdf
 15 June  Elaine Le Sueur
 Let's make an impact!
 made4gifted.blogspot.co.nz/2013/06/lets-make-impact.html
 16 June  Tracy Riley  24/7 Challenge  giftednz.org.nz/247-challenge/
 16 June  Mary St George  It's All About Awareness  creatingcurriculum.wordpress.com/2013/06/16/its-all-about-awareness/
 16 June  Elizabeth Paddock  The First Day of School That Wasn't  lovelearnplay.blogspot.com/2013/06/the-first-day-of-school-that-wasnt.html
 17 June  Louise Tapper  Let’s Not ‘Throw out the Baby with the Bathwater’: A Challenge to the Debate over Streaming.  giftednz.org.nz/lets-not-throw/
 17 June  Madelaine's GK Class
 What Being Gifted Means to Us  giftedkidswaikowhai.wikispaces.com/Gifted+Awareness+Week+
2013#Tuesday: What being gifted means to us

 17 June  Leigh  Here's to Gifted Awareness Week!  creatingcurriculum.wordpress.com/2013/06/17/heres-to-gifted-awareness-week/
 18 June  Interprofessional Community of Inclusive Education  Picture this: gifted  inclusion.org.nz/2013/06/17/picture-this-gifted/
 18 June  Madelaine's GK Class   Our Thoughts about Being Gifted  giftedkidswaikowhai.wikispaces.com/Gifted+Awareness+Week+
2013#Wednesday: Our thoughts about being gifted:

 18 June  Anna Voulgaris   Young Members of Mensa New Zealand
 creatingcurriculum.wordpress.com/2013/06/18/young-members-of-mensa-new-zealand/
 18 June  Lisa Conrad  The High Ability - Gifted Conundrum
 giftedparentingsupport.blogspot.co.nz/2013/06/the-high-ability-gifted-conundrum.html
 18 June  Mary St George  Planning with Pictures  giftednz.org.nz/planning-with-pictures/
 18 June  Elaine Le Sueur
 If... the student's viewpoint
 made4gifted.blogspot.co.nz/2013/06/if-students-viewpoint.html
 19 June  Interprofessional Community of Inclusive Education  Yes is less. Say no more...  inclusion.org.nz/2013/06/19/yes-is-less-say-no-more/
 19 June  Sunny Bush  Chess – A New Game Plan for Looking at Maori Giftedness?  giftednz.org.nz/chess-a-new-game-plan-for-looking-at-maori-giftedness/
 19 June  Madelaine Willcocks 
 Challenge, giftedness and what children think  madelainesideas.blogspot.co.nz/2013/06/gifted-awareness-week-2013-challenge.html
 19 June  Hon. Catherine Delahunty  Gifted Awareness Week  blog.greens.org.nz/2013/06/19/gifted-kids-at-parliament/
 19 June  Hon. Chris Hipkins  Gifted kids at Parliament  blog.labour.org.nz/2013/06/19/gifted-awareness-week/
 20 June  Interprofessional Community of Inclusive Education  What Does it Take to Include the Gifted?  inclusion.org.nz/2013/06/19/what-does-it-take-to-include-the-gifted/
 20 June  Lily  The Gifted Deserve More  creatingcurriculum.wordpress.com/2013/06/20/the-gifted-deserve-more/
 20 June  Anna Meuli  The Challenges Embedded in “Managing Self”  giftednz.org.nz/the-challenges-embedded-in-managing-self/
 20 June
 
 Cromwell Half Day School  Gifted Awareness Week Competition  halfdayschool.wordpress.com/2013/06/14/gifted-awareness-week-competition/
 21 June  Interprofessional Community of Inclusive Education  Differentiating with The Khan Academy  inclusion.org.nz/2013/06/21/differentiating_khan/
 21 June  Lisa Lauffer  The Benefits of Creating for the Gifted Adult  www.artisanofcreativemiracles.com/2013/06/creating-challenge-day-172-benefits-of.html
 22 June  Sue Barriball  “Smart Kids” – Kiwi Kids’ Perspectives  giftednz.org.nz/smart-kids/
 22 June  Emma Scobie-Jennings
 An Investigation into the Identification of Maori Gifted and Talented Students in Mainstream Schools in Aotearoa New Zealand  creatingcurriculum.wordpress.com/2013/06/22/an-investigation-into-the-identification-of-maori-gifted-and-talented-students-in-mainstream-schools-in-aotearoa-new-zealand/
 22 June  Rewi
 I Felt Like an Outsider  creatingcurriculum.wordpress.com/2013/06/22/i-felt-like-an-outsider/
 23 June  Sue Breen   Choosing your Battles  giftednz.org.nz/choosing-your-battles/
 23 June  Leslie Graves  On Giftedness and the #NZGAW  innreach.wordpress.com/2013/06/23/on-giftedness-and-the-nzgaw/
 23 June
 Janet Abercrombie  Differentiating Homework for Gifted Students  expateducator.com/2013/06/23/differentiating-homework-for-gifted-students/
 23 June  Lisa Barlow  Twice Exceptional or Just Exceptional?  creatingcurriculum.wordpress.com/2013/06/23/twice-exceptional-or-just-exceptional/

Join a facebook group on giftedness. Parents, teachers and advocates for the gifted welcome!
 <- Sorry, Twitter buttons and Ultranet do not seem to get along, but if all you see to the left is the word "Tweet" in blue, we'd still love you to tweet this page! You are also very welcome to follow @MaryStGeorge.

GO is a service provided by the New Zealand Centre for Gifted Education.

 Enquiries
 For all enquiries about the Gifted Online Programme, please contact:
 
 Mary St George
 Lead Teacher for Gifted Online
 T: 07 849 4842       Freephone: 0800 547 543       Email: Please click here to send us a message.
 New Zealand Centre for Gifted Education Limited
  GK ODS SP GO